Home > JavaScript > jQuery validation : End date should be Greater than Start date

jQuery validation : End date should be Greater than Start date

jQuery validation is powerful,easy to use and most widely usedclient-side form validation. In addition to this you can add custom rules to default rules of jquery validation. This can be done by adding “addMethod” function as per your requirement.

In some case when you are working around dates you need to validate two dates. For e.g if you are working with Start Date and End date than “End Date must be Greater than Start Date“. This can be done by javascript by comparing two dates. But if you are using jquery validation than below is the easy and simple way to check that End date is Greater than Start Date or not.

Just copy below code and paste it in to your validation file. Now add“enddate” class to end date textbox , add “startdate” class to startdate textbox. Thats it

$.validator.addMethod(“enddate“, function(value, element) {
var startdatevalue = $(‘.startdate‘).val();
return Date.parse(startdatevalue) < Date.parse(value);
}, “End Date should be greater than Start Date.”);

Date.parse will convert string value(form element value) in to javascriptdate object as javascript we need to compare two dates not two string.

To know more about programming,JavaScript issues,jQuery,MYSQL database,php info,php editor,programming php,Open-source,php help and php script , subscribe to our feed by entering email address below. You will get updates via email about every tutorial posted on this site . It will not take more than a sec.

Categories: JavaScript
  1. sunny
    June 1, 2012 at 4:44 am

    ITS End date should be Greater or EQUAL TO Start date

  2. project management training
    September 20, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    At this moment I am going away to do my breakfast,
    when having my breakfast coming again to read more news.

  3. halipater08562
    February 8, 2013 at 7:06 am

    Precisely what truly influenced u to compose “jQuery validation : End date should be Greater than Start date | Bhavin Rana”?
    I actuallygenuinely enjoyed reading the blog post!
    Thanks ,Eva

  4. server cardsharing cccam server
    March 3, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital
    to claim that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your weblog
    posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing on your feeds and even I success you get entry to constantly quickly.

  5. April 10, 2013 at 3:46 am

    Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.

    Any suggestions?

  6. tlfbiblicalstudies.org/
    May 3, 2013 at 5:07 am

    It was only because of the high cost of resources and server space.
    Another person bought a workshop ticket, and it’s as if it never happened. The simple idea behind this strategy lies in using a multi-step process to separate out the spam from your e-mail.

  7. June 26, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    May I simply say what a comfort to discover someone that really knows what they are talking about on the web.
    You certainly realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More and more people must check this out and understand this
    side of the story. I was surprised that you are
    not more popular since you most certainly possess the gift.

  8. June 27, 2013 at 8:30 am

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

    • January 8, 2014 at 6:23 am

      Please give me your email to remove !

  9. ADIPEX
    July 27, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in truth was once a entertainment account it.
    Glance complex to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we be in contact?

  10. August 11, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad
    and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so
    she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad
    is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  11. day car insurance
    September 9, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody
    else experiencing problems with your website. It appears
    as though some of the text in your content are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening
    to them too? This might be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Cheers

  12. Kiran
    October 3, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    It worked for me, thanks!

  13. November 4, 2013 at 4:03 am

    After going over a number of the blog articles on your website, I honestly like your way of writing a blog.
    I added it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Please check out my website too and let me know your opinion.

  14. January 1, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This article posted at this web site is really pleasant.

  15. sravanthi
    January 7, 2014 at 6:51 am

    thanks its working fine but dates is empty how to check..it showing alert box

    • January 8, 2014 at 6:20 am

      if ( $(“#txt”).val().length > 0 )
      {
      // do something
      }

  16. sravanthi
    January 7, 2014 at 7:11 am

    but i have to access that message from proerties file..what you wrote in that method

  17. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W33Py7GLUX0
    January 22, 2014 at 10:58 am

    Right here is the right website for anyone who really
    wants to understand this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally
    will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a topic
    which has been written about for many years. Great stuff, just great!

  18. Shiela
    January 25, 2014 at 5:01 pm

    I personally blog too and I’m composing a little something alike to this specific article, “jQuery
    validation : End date should be Greater than Start date | Bhavin Rana”.

    Would you care if I actuallymake use of a bit of of your concepts?
    Thanks for your time ,Orville

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

